SPEED - HISTORICAL & BACKGROUND INFORMATION

1957 – 1967	SPEED served both high and low incidence special education students and became known as the South Suburban Public School Cooperative Association of Cook County.
1964	Mr. Lynn Wiley became the first Executive Director of SPEED. He served from July 1964-August 1973.
1967	SPEED was organized under the Illinois School Code and included fourteen contiguous school districts. Homewood School District 153 served as the Administrative District.
1973	Mrs. Jan Freeman became SPEED's second Executive Director, serving from September 1973-June 1980.
1975	SPEED became a legal entity and the second Special Education Joint Agreement in Illinois, School District 802.
	Mr. Reno Rosatti, from School District 170, became the first Governing Board President and served from July 1975-June 1979.
1979	Mrs. Katherine Cerone, from District 233, became SPEED's second Governing Board President, serving from July 1979 to June 1982.
1980	Dr. Ted Riggen became the third Executive Director, serving from July 1980 to December 1985.
1981	The SPEED/SMA Inquiry group was formed. The purpose of the group was to explore the concept of whether or not there was a need for joint agreement programs and whether or not low incidence disabled students should be served through the regional Cooperative, SMA. SMA was created in 1971 from a Title VI Grant for low incidence disabled students submitted by SPEED. SMA became a regional special education cooperative, serving over 50 districts.
1982	Mrs. Judith Lohr, from District 227, became the third Governing Board President and served from July 1982-June 1985.
1984	Dr. Paul Dulle became SPEED's Acting Director and served from December 1984 to March 1985.
1985	Dr. Martin W. Fox became SPEED's fourth Executive Director and served from July 1985-July 2002.
	Mrs. Louise Morales, from District 168, became the fourth Governing Board President, serving from July 1985- July 2005.
1986	Prairie Hills School District 144 became SPEED's 15 th member district.
2002	Dr. Betty Pointer became SPEED's fifth Executive Director, serving from July 2002 – December 2007.
2005	Mr. Ron Bean, from District 162, became SPEED's fifth Governing Board President, serving from August 2005 to the present.

SPEED - HISTORICAL & BACKGROUND INFORMATION

2008	Dr. Genevra Walters became SPEED's sixth Executive Director, serving from January 2008 to May 2014.
2014	Mrs. Sharon Rossiter became SPEED's Seventh Executive Director, serving from June 2014 to June 2017.
2017	Ms. Lenoir and Mr. Travaglini became the Interim Executive Directors, serving from July 2017 to July 2018.
2018	Dr. Tina Halliman became SPEED's Eighth Executive Director, serving from April 2018 to present